West Park Asylum

Place now has been converted into flats, few years ago it was a real gem to visit for British explorers, with loads of items still remaining in wards, great corridors and Chinese security :) We actually got busted by one of them on our way out, no question asked we had to leave.. well we have been leaving anyway.

visited with: Vad.

Asylum operated from 1923  until 2003. The hospital was designed by William C. Clifford-Smith (architect to the London County Council), who was also involved in the design of nearby St Ebba's Hospital. The hospital had been in planning since 1906, and by 1917 it was largely complete; however, the outbreak of war postponed opening until 1923.

When complete the hospital could cater for around 2,000 patients of mixed class, and hence the site had extensive boiler houses and plant rooms, a large laundry and a substantial water tower. There were enormous kitchens located behind the canteen, and in turn this was behind the main hall/ballroom. However, the main hall suffered an arson attack on September 30th 2003 and is now a burnt out shell. The asylum also boasted its own railway but this was removed in 1950, and no trace remains except around the central engineering block. The main stores and sewing rooms were also located here, but other services, such as the mortuary and chapel, were located by the entrance road, along with two lodges for the matrons and a large manor for the superintendent.

The hospital was slowly run down from the mid 1990s, and by 2003 most of the hospital was closed and derelict.










No comments:

Post a Comment